Kete

I love this project – such a great idea. It offers a different way of thinking about social work and our personal journeys.Please visit 40 Objects and consider adding your own contribution.

social work in 40 objects

    L I Z   B E D D O E

33 Liz Beddoe   33 Kete

The idea of a career in social work had not entered my mind when I finished my sociology degree in my early twenties. I was keen to find a social research job. I was interviewed for a junior research role in a private research company. The owner said my results from their employment questionnaire meant I was too much a soft leftie and would not be of use to his business. Instead I should try social work. A seed was sown. The next job I applied for was to be a social worker in an older adults’ inpatient service. I had worked in a rest home while studying and enjoyed working with our elders. I got the job and loved it. I went on to complete my MA in social work and worked in health social…

View original post 225 more words

About socialworknz

I'm a social work researcher in Aotearoa New Zealand
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

